Travis Smith Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WC day 2 January 21, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — travissmith16 @ 6:59 am

  45b2d7fe1e7e99738-smith2.jpg

OK, well at least I can say that I’m starting to figure stuff out!!

Today was day 2.. f200m and match sprints…(maybe).. everything was going well I felt good during warm up.. my jumps where fast… I only had a big bruise on the inside of my knee… from yesterdays Keirin.. but that didn’t  affect me at all..

So I was #27th off in the sprints… I was excited to make up for my riding yesterday.. and I was felling good.. OFF I go.. I’m rolling around they, ring the bell meaning I’m going now… I stand to get every watt of power out of my system… and you now what happened?? NOTHING that was all I had… so as I’m standing my head starts playing games with me…
First thing that comes in…. OH CRAP!! I’m screwed.. then I pass the 100m line and I’m dying like a pig… and I can feel it…

I look up 10.73! what the beep!! How??

So after everyone goes.. I’m 16th AGAIN… that means I race seed #1 (Chris Hoy) goodie!!
I was actually excited to get him, because Yes he is fast as hell… but he is also newer to match sprints… NOT cycling.. this guy has been around forever.. winning everything.. but I thought Ok, he will make lots of mistakes… NOPE, I was wrong… there goes Chris flying over top of me… 10.7 in a sprint!! What the heck.. I couldn’t even do that in my f200m!!

Anyway I will quit  complaining.. I’m just happy that I talked with my coach and he said to me exactly what I was thinking.. what I need to work on..
The best way for me to explain it is in car terminology!!

IF I where a fast car.. right now I am having some major turbo lag… it is taking me awhile to kick that turbo into overdrive… I am missing that low end power with strength and acceleration… but NOW.. that we are both realizing this… and we know how to fix it…I just have to spend about $2000 on some bolt on parts!!! Na joking!!
But I will be working on this mid range acceleration problem, and I will have it fixed soon.

Well it wasn’t all bad… I didn’t race horrible.. I sprinted well tactically… just low horse power for now…

So thanks for reading.. and I look forward to getting faster for me and ALL of you!!

Cheers,
Trav

 

2 Responses to “WC day 2”

  1. Jimbo Hamama Says:

    It’s okay, Trav. You will bounce back from this. And if you don’t, there’s always the Special Olympics!

  2. Jimbo Says:

    I’m sorry there Trav, you have accomplished more in life than I ever will. You seem to have had a tough weekend but knowing you, you will bounce back stronger.

    Good luck and keep on riding, you are an inspiration to us all.


Leave a comment